Forum Archive :
When do you give up your chance to double?
When is a player legally committed to doubling? The answer seems to be
that you're committed to doubling as soon as you touch the cube.
(Obviously, there's some latitude for common sense. If someone knocks
your table and your cube falls on the floor and you pick it up, you
don't suffer a penalty.)
I would like to ask the same question with regard to holding. When has
a player bypassed the opportunity to double? For example, if a player
shakes and gets cocked dice and has to reroll, can the player double
instead of rerolling? (I doubt it.) Can a player start to shake the
dice and then double instead of rolling?
> If a player shakes and gets cocked dice and has to reroll, can he
> double instead of rerolling?
No, the player must roll again.
> Can a player start to shake the dice and then double instead of rolling?
Yes, the player may still double.
Michael Crane writes:
Until the dice are actually cast from the cup a player can double.
Many players shake the dice while thinking what to do. Once they have
been cast, that's it, even if it is an invalid roll, i.e., cocked dice
or dice bouncing off the board.
- Bearing off question (Colin Wiel+, July 2000)
- Can a beaver be dropped? (Robert-Jan Veldhuizen+, Mar 2006)
- Can a beaver be dropped? (Stein Kulseth, May 2000)
- Changing dice (Julian Hayward, Feb 1998)
- Checker shuffling (James Johnson+, June 2000)
- Gentleman's previlege (Daniel+, Sept 2005)
- Hit and run (Rich+, Jan 2000)
- "Illegal moves" rule (Chuck Bower+, May 2004)
- Illegal plays (Bob+, Aug 2002)
- Illegal plays (Marc Gray, Nov 1995)
- Illegal plays that can't be condoned (Matt Cohn-Geier+, Feb 2011)
- Is stalemate possible? (Jan Andrew Bloxham+, July 1995)
- Jacoby rule (Daniel Murphy, Dec 1997)
- Jacoby rule ambiguity? (Chuck Bower+, Mar 2011)
- Jacoby rule--Good or bad? (neilkaz+, May 2006)
- Legal roll (Sture Lifh+, July 2004)
- Legal roll (Gregg Cattanach, Oct 2001)
- Moving checkers unambiguously (Timothy Chow+, Oct 2009)
- Moving checkers with two hands (Michael Strato+, June 2000)
- Must a hit checker be placed on the bar? (Dani+, May 2006)
- Pick and pass and bearing off (SimonW+, Jan 2005)
- Play cubeless at 2away/2away? (Raccoon+, Oct 2005)
- Repairing an illegal play (Michael J. Zehr, Apr 1995)
- Resigning (Bob Lang+, Aug 2002)
- Rolling on wrong side of board (Ian Shaw+, Aug 2004)
- Rolling on wrong side of board (Kit Woolsey, Jan 1999)
- Rolling on wrong side of board (Kit Woolsey, Sept 1998)
- Rolling on wrong side of board (Bob Hoey, Apr 1998)
- Rolling too soon (TonyM+, Feb 2007)
- Rolling too soon (Stephen Turner, Feb 1998)
- Rolling too soon (James Grenier+, Sept 1996)
- Talking during play (EdmondT+, Dec 2000)
- Touch-move rule in backgammon? (Ken Bame+, Nov 2006)
- Touch-move rule in backgammon? (Austefjord+, May 2002)
- U.S. backgammon tournament rules (Butch Meese, Nov 1997)
- When do you give up your chance to double? (Paul Epstein+, July 2005)
- When is a move over? (JP White, May 2000)
- Overview (Daniel Murphy, Apr 2001)