Forum Archive :
||11 October 2009
||May I put a checker on the bar before moving my own?
Is it acceptable (according to the rules that most people play by), if I
make a move that hits, to pick up the hit checker first and put it on the
bar before I move my own checker?
Neil Kazaross writes:
Please don't, or at least don't do this very often.
Daniel Murphy writes:
Rule 4.3 says: "MOVING. A player shall move the checkers in an unambiguous
manner, using only one hand."
Unambiguous: clear, having no uncertainty or ambiguity, in a manner which
leaves no doubt. Rule 4.3 sets a high standard. In my experience, a player
who "makes a habit" (as I said) of moving my checkers without moving his is
among those that we're going to have a disagreement with, eventually.
Jason Lee asks:
> What, precisely, is your objection to this method of moving checkers?
(1) If you haven't moved your checker yet, what did you hit my checker
(2) I'm going to avoid disputes about where checkers were by insisting that
moves be done as clearly as they need to be to be clear. It's not
sufficient that the final position be legal. I want no disputes about where
my checker was, if opponent (a) lets a long time pass between picking up my
checker and moving his, or (b) ends up making some other move that doesn't
even legally hit my checker. I've experienced both (a) and (b).
Richard Munitz writes:
I think that the relevant US rule here is the following:
4.3 MOVING. A player shall move the checkers in an unambiguous manner,
using only one hand.
This rule implies to me that there is more that matters when making the
move than simply where the checkers have wound up at the moment when the
dice are lifted. Any action moving the checkers that can cause confusion as
to what is being done should be avoided.
In this case, the rules are pretty clear that an opponent's checker is hit
when the player's checker touches down on it. Clearly it cannot have been
hit if none of the player's checkers have been moved.
However, in practice, I think I would be generally tolerant of this kind of
thing in certain situations. The situation where I think it is most
acceptable is when a checker is on the bar and is going to enter on top of
the blot. It is clear to all that the checker on the bar must be the first
checker moving and particularly if the hit is forced, I see no ambiguity
I would also be tolerant of this kind of play if the hitting checker is
going to be left on the point the blot was occupying. Placing it on the bar
first is then more a matter of making room on the point for the hitting
checker. In all cases, I'd expect the hitting checker to be placed on the
point without delay.
- Am I too slow? (sevenout+, Apr 2004)
- Am I too slow? (Stephen Turner, Jan 2002)
- Am I too slow? (Daniel Murphy, June 1997)
- Commenting on dice (Ron Barry+, Mar 2001)
- Dealing with droppers (Bill Hill, Dec 1998)
- Dealing with droppers (Patti Beadles, Mar 1996)
- Dice cup (Walt Swan, June 2000)
- Direction of play (Ric Gerace+, Aug 2001)
- Doubling opponent out (bustedchucks+, June 2005)
- Doubling to end a game early (Douglas Zare, Aug 2001)
- Etiquette for online play (Dean Ayer+, June 1997)
- Going for backgammon in a one-point match (Douglas Zare, Nov 2000)
- How long to wait? (Marsha Wisniski+, Dec 1997)
- Listening to music while playing (Max Urban+, Oct 2009)
- Moving hit checker first (Timothy Chow+, Oct 2009)
- Premature shaking (Paul Epstein+, July 2005)
- Rolling the dice (Julius Selbach+, July 2005)
- Rude conduct (Igor Schein+, Mar 2003)
- Under resigning (Bob Newell+, Aug 2004)
- Under resigning (Ilya Vinogradsky+, May 1994)
- When to quit (Albert Steg, Nov 1998)
- Why I never complain about the dice (Phil Simborg, Mar 2004)